Am I Dopey?!

So, I’ve done it… I signed up to do the Dopey Challenge in 2018. For those who don’t know, the Dopey Challenge is a Walt Disney World Marathon weekend event, usually held the first weekend of January every year. It entails running a 5k on Thursday, a 10k on Friday, a Half Marathon on Saturday and then the Full Marathon on Sunday. That’s a grand total of 48.6 miles over the 4 days. Apparently I am easily swayed by bling, especially when it comes to Disney bling, and ESPECIALLY Goofy or Dopey related bling! By running all 4 races, you not only get the 4 medals from each race, but you would have competed what they call the “Goofy Challenge” which is the Half and the Full, and by doing all 4 of the races, the bonus medal is the coveted Dopey medal.

I haven’t been running for very long… It might be going on 4 years now, so I still consider myself fairly inexperienced. I have become friends with so many people in the running community who have been running since High School, but I honestly never had the drive.. I use to be that person who would see someone running and think – “why are they doing that?” “Why are the torturing themselves?” Haha.. And really, I only started running for the fun runs.. I wanted in on the craze of “The Color Run” and the big inflatable obstacle runs and really had no intention of doing much more than that, yet here I am…signed up for this incredible challenge. What have I done?

I decided to start this blog to share my thoughts and my experiences, my lessons, and my victories while training, not because I want to pose as some sort of expert because I’m certainly far from that,  as I’m still learning myself. I mostly wanted a way to document the journey and clear my head, because there is a lot going on in there! So, am I Dopey? I should certainly hope so!

 

 

Leave a Reply

